I HEART NYC.

I have a real love/hate relationship with New York City.

There are things that I love, love, love…and there are things that I hate, hate, hate.

NYC is a great place to visit, but it is a hard place to live.  It can beat you down, chew you up, and spit you back out–all before breakfast.  However, it seems that just as you are about to throw in the towel and throw up a one-fingered salute to her on your way to anywhere but here, NYC draws you back in again and reminds you why she is so great.

I’m not going to lie, I’ve been struggling with living in NYC for awhile now.  I don’t love it, but yet, I’m not ready to leave.  Confusing?  You should try living in my brain!  It’s a conundrum, to say the very least.

Tonight as I sat on the ferry watching a very beautiful sunset over the Hudson, I had a bit of an (as Oprah likes to call it) AHA moment: I actually miss doing 100 Happy Days because (this is the aha-moment) aside from when I get visitors and can experience NYC as a well-informed-so-I’m-not-going-to-be-suckered-in-by-your-cutrate-tour-tourist, the happiest I’ve been about living in NYC is when I was actively searching for happiness.  It reminded me with a not-so-sublte slap that when you focus on the happy things, most of the negative things in our lives melt away and become a lot more insignificant.  Sure bad things are going to happen, but when you’re focusing on the good, it makes it seem a lot more bearable.

As one of my heroes, Ann Richards, so eloquently said “[your] whole life is in your head…if something is wrong, then change your mind.”  It is in that spirit and–thanks to the 100 Happy Days project for the idea– that I have decided to start change my focus and start sharing what I love about NYC, starting today with watching the sun set while riding on the ferry.

Join the Discussion...

Blog at WordPress.com.

