I HEART NYC #2

New Yorkers have a reputation for being cold and uncaring.  This is, of course, very far from the truth: most are just trying to get through their day.

Today as I was walking down 6th Avenue, I saw a homeless man sitting on the sidewalk with a sign that simply read:

I’m hungry and would appreciate any food you might have to spare.

As I got closer to the man, another man approached and offered him a drink and a bag.  The man offering food crouched in front of the man holding a sign, looked him in the eye and as I walked by, I heard him say: I know that you said you just wanted a burger, but you can’t enjoy a burger without fries and a coke.

Join the Discussion...

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

